DET 2009 CALL FOR PAPERS

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2009 International Workshop on Distance Education Technologies (DET 2009)

Workshop in DMS 2009

The 15th International Conference on Distributed Multimedia Systems (DMS'09)

Hotel Sofitel, Redwood City, San Francisco Bay, USA, September 10 to September 12, 2009

(URL: http://www.ksi.edu/seke/dms09.html)

Organized by Knowledge Systems Institute, U.S.A.

THEME

DET 2009 focuses on creative solutions on distance education. It combines several advanced topics on design, implementation, and applications of E-learning systems. Submissions may cover novel approaches on distance learning tools, communication mechanisms, distance learning and culture, new educational technologies, distance learning and the arts, and so on. Our special attention will be devoted to intelligent tools in various distance education systems.

This workshop is being held in conjunction with 15th International Conference on Distributed Multimedia Systems (DMS 2009) http://www.ksi.edu/seke/dms09.html .

SCOPE

Distance education technologies cover important aspects of Communication Technologies, distance learning and culture improvement and arts by using Intelligent Technologies and Educational Technologies. The technical issues to be addressed include, but are not limited to:

E-learning based on mobile device

Intelligent learning agent Intelligent information delivery/reuse Eclipse Open source ecosystem and E-learning Intelligent Technologies Educational Technologies practical and new learning models Societal, Legal and Ethical Considerations Intelligent resources Advanced tools Advanced Distance Education Projects Distance Education Management Distance Learning for culture and arts

SUBMISSION OF PAPERS

Papers should be prepared according to the DMS'2009 submission requirements. Electronic submissions are encouraged (http://conf.ksi.edu/det09/submit/SubmitPaper.php). Each manuscript should include a 200-word abstract and not more than 20 pages of double-spaced text (including figures and references). Papers should also be e-mailed in Postscript, PDF, or MS Word versions to prof. ing. Paolo Maresca paolo.maresca@unina.it, by the specified deadline.

IMPORTANT DATES

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Prof. ing. Maresca Paolo
Dipartimento di Informatica e Sistemistica (DIS)
Polo Scientifico e Tecnologico dell' Universita' di Napoli Federico II
Facoltà di Ingegneria Via Claudio, 21
80125 NAPOLI
ITALY
e-mail: paolo.maresca@unina.it
Phone +39 091 7683168 via Claudio
Mobile Phone +39 335 8454124
Fax +39 091 7683816

SPONSORS

Workshop Co-Chairs

Tim Arndt, Cleveland State University, USA arndt@cis.csuohio.edu
Heng-Shuen Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan chenhs@ntu.edu.tw

Program Co-Chairs

Paolo Maresca, University Federico II, Napoli, Italy, paomares@unina.it
Qun Jin, Waseda University, Japan jin@waseda.jp

Steering Committee

S. K. Chang, University of Pittsburgh, U.S.A

International Program Committee

Giovanni Adorni University of Genova, Italy, adorni@dist.unige.it
Tim Arndt Cleveland State University, USA, arndt@cis.csuohio.edu
Heng-Shuen Chen National Taiwan University, Taiwan, chenhs@ntu.edu.tw
Yuan-Sun Chu National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan, chu@ee.ccu.edu.tw
Luigi Colazzo University di Trento, Italy, colazzo@cs.unitn.it
Rita Francese University of Salerno, Italy, francese@unisa.it
Wu He Old Dominion University, USA, whe@odu.edu
Pedro Isaias Open University, Portugal, isaias@iadis.org
Qun Jin Waseda University, Japan, jin@waseda.jp
Paolo Maresca University Federico II, Napoli, Italy, paomares@unina.it
Syed M. Rahman Minnesota State University, USA, mahbubur.syed@mnsu.edu
Teresa Roselli University of Bari, Italy, roselli@di.uniba.it
Nicoletta Sala University of Italian Switzerland, Switzerland, nicksala@tin.it
Giuseppe Scanniello University of Salerno, Italy, giuseppe.scanniello@unibas.it
Hui-Kai Su Nanhua University, Taiwan, hksu@mail.nhu.edu.tw
Yu-Huei Su National HsinChu University of Education, Taiwan, yhsu@mail.nhcue.edu.tw
Kazuo Yana Hosei University, Japan, yana@huric.org