| Author's Instructions | Copyright Form | Latex Style File |
| Technical Program| Registration | Conference Hotel Reservation |
| International Journal of Software Engineering and Knowledge Engineering |
| Handbook on Software Engineering and Knowledge Engineering |
| DMS2005 Call for Papers | Proceedings Table of Content |

Call for Papers

The Tenth International Conference on Distributed Multimedia Systems

DMS'2004

Hotel Sofitel, San Francisco Bay

September 8 - 10, 2004

Organized by

Knowledge Systems Institute


The DMS conference is an international conference series, which covers a wide spectrum of technique discussions, demonstrations, and student program/paper contests in the fields of distributed multimedia computing. Started in 1994, the series of conference has been held at Hawaii, Hong Kong, Vancouver, Taipei, Aizu-Wakamatsu, Japan, San Francisco and Miami. This time, the conference will be held at the Sofitel Hotel, San Francisco Bay, USA with video conferencing in other universities/organizations in US, Japan and elsewhere.

DMS'2004 focuses on techniques, systems, applications, and theories in the fields of distributed multimedia computing. The conference organizers seek contributions of high quality papers, panels or tutorials, addressing various aspects of distributed multimedia systems and applications, for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

The use of prototypes and demonstration video for presentations is encouraged.

Workshops and Special Sessions

This year, DMS'2004 will be held in conjunction with workshops, conferences and special sections. Papers submitted to workshops or special sessions are invited by the program committee chairs of the workshops/sections. This joint organization aims to collect research results from different perspectives. The following workshops and conferences are being planned:

Please contact the conference program co-chairs if you are interested in organizing a workshop or a special session. A one-page proposal with the following items is required:


  Title of the workshop/special session
  Name of the program committee chair(s)
  A list of program committee members
  E-mail address of the corresponding program committee chair
  A brief description of the theme

Each special session should include at least 5 invited (or accepted) papers. Each workshop should include at least 2 special sessions (10 papers). Paper review process of the workshop/special session will be arranged by the individual program committee chair. It is the responsibility of the individual chairs to ensure the quality of papers in the workshop/special sessions. The schedule of workshops/special sessions will be the same as the main conference (See Important Dates below). Each individual program committee chair can set up the Web site of the workshop/special session. However papers will be printed in the same volume as the main conference.

Special issue of Journals

Best ranked papers accepted at the conference will be suggested for publication in a special issue of an international journal, subject to the review by the program committee. Papers suggested for the special issue will then be reviewed by external reviewers following the standard procedure of review stipulated by the international journal.

Conference Site

Hotel Sofitel, San Francisco Bay

Conference Organization

Conference chair: Shi-Kuo Chang, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Program Committee Co-Chairs:
Nikolay Mirenkov, University of Aizu, Japan
Maurizio Tucci, University of Salerno, Italy

Workshops Coordinator: Timothy K. Shih, Tamkang University, Taiwan (tshih@cs.tku.edu.tw)

Program Committee:
Nadia Berthouze, University of Aizu, Japan (nadia@u-aizu.ac.jp)
Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo, Norway (griff@ifi.uio.no)
Kai H. Chang, Auburn University, USA (kchang@eng.auburn.edu)
Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia University, USA (sfchang@ee.columbia.edu)
Han-Chieh Chao, National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan (hcc@mail.ndhu.edu.tw)
Ing-Ray Chen, Virginia Tech (VPI&SU), USA (irchen@cs.vt.edu)
Meng Chang Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan (mcc@iis.sinica.edu.tw)
Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, USA (chens@cs.fiu.edu)
Yonghee Choi, Seoul National Univ., Korea (yonghee@juno.com)
Zied Choukair, ENST Bretagne, France (Zied.Choukair@enst-bretagne.fr)
Fadi P. Deek, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA (Fadi.Deek@njit.edu)
David H. C. Du, Univ. of Minnesota, USA (du@cs.umn.edu)
Jean-Luc Dugelay, Institut EURECOM, France (jld@eurecom.fr)
Larbi Esmahi, National Research Council of Canada, Canada (larbie@athabascau.ca)
Athula Ginige, University of Western Sydney, Australia (a.ginige@uws.edu.au)
Stuart Goose, Siemens Corporate Research, USA (sgoose@scr.siemens.com)
William Grosky, Wayne State Univ., USA (wgrosky@umich.edu)
Angela Guercio, Hiram College, USA (guercioa@hiram.edu)
Masahito Hirakawa, Shimane University, Japan (hirakawa@cis.shimane-u.ac.jp)
Peter Douglas Holt, Athabasca University, Canada (holt@athabascau.ca)
Michelle T. C. Kao, National Dong-Hwa University, Taiwan (mkao@mail.ndhu.edu.tw)
James Kwok, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong (jkwok@ust.hk)
Robert Laurini, LIRIS - INSA de Lyon, France (Robert.Laurini@insa-lyon.fr)
Wee Kheng Leow, The National University of Singapore, Singapore (leowwk@comp.nus.edu.sg)
Sheng-Tun Li, National Cheng-Kung University (stli@mail.ncku.edu.tw)
Wen-Syan Li, CCRL, NEC USA Inc. (wen@ccrl.sj.nec.com)
Mark Liao, Academia Sinica, Taiwan (liao@iis.sinica.edu.tw)
Fuhua Lin, Athabasca University, Canada (oscarl@athabascau.ca)
Chien-Tsai Liu, Taipei Medical College, Taiwan (ctliu@ha.mc.ntu.edu.tw)
Jonathan Liu, University of Florida, USA (jcliu@cise.ufl.edu)
Vincent Oria, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA (oria@cis.njit.edu)
Ming Ouhyoung, National Taiwan University, Taiwan (ming@csie.ntu.edu.tw)
Syed M. Rahman, Minnesota State University, USA (mahbubur.syed@mankato.msus.edu)
Yoshitaka Shibata, Iwate Prefectural University, Japan (shibata@iwate-pu.ac.jp)
Timothy K. Shih, Tamkang University, Taiwan (tshih@cs.tku.edu.tw)
Makoto Takizawa, Tokyo Denki University, Japan (taki@takilab.k.dendai.ac.jp)
Steven L. Tanimoto, Univ. of Washington, USA (tanimoto@cs.washington.edu)
Genny Tortora, University of Salerno, Italy (tortora@unisa.it)
Joseph E. Urban, Arizona State Univ., USA (joseph.urban@asu.edu)
Athena Vakali, Aristotle University, Greece (avakali@csd.auth.gr)
Son T. Vuong, Univ. of British Columbia, Canada (vuong@cs.ubc.ca)
Shi-Nine Yang, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan (snyang@cs.nthu.edu.tw)
Rentaro Yoshioka, University of Aizu (rentaro@u-aizu.ac.jp)
Kang Zhang, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA (kzhang@utdallas.edu)

Boat Tour

Conference banquet will be combined with a boat tour to the San Francisco Bay.

Information for Authors

Papers must be written in English. An electronic version (Postscript, PDF, or MS Word format) of the full paper should be submitted using the following URL: http://conf.ksi.edu/dms04/submit/SubmitPaper.php. Please use Internet Explorer as the browser. Manuscript must include a 200-word abstract and no more than 6 pages of IEEE double column text (include figures and references).

Information for Reviewers

Papers submitted to DMS'04 will be reviewed electronically. The users (webmaster, program chair, reviewers...) can login using the following URL: http://conf.ksi.edu/dms04/review/pass.php. If you have any questions or run into problems, please send e-mail to: dms@ksi.edu.
DMS'2004 Conference Secretariat
Knowledge Systems Institute
3420 Main Street
Skokie, IL 60076 USA
Tel: 847-679-3135
Fax: 847-679-3166
E-mail: dms@ksi.edu
If you cannot submit electronically, please send four copies of the complete manuscript to the above postal address.

Important Dates

   March  31, 2004 (Extended to April 20, 2004)       Paper submission due
   June   1, 2004       Notification of acceptance
   July 1, 2004       Final manuscript due
   July 1, 2004       Early conference registration due