CALL FOR PAPERS

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Model-Based Software Engineering

 

Special Track

in the Twentieth International Conference on Software Engineering and Knowledge Engineering (SEKE'08)

 

 

Hotel Sofitel, San Francisco Bay, USA, July 1 – 3, 2008

(http://www.ksi.edu/seke/seke08.html )

 

 

SCOPE AND GOALS

 

The amount of information contained in a software implementation usually far exceeds our ability to comprehend it. We need high-level abstract descriptions, or models, to document, communicate, reason about, verify, and reuse software designs.

 

This special track on Model-Based Software Engineering (MBSE) in SEKE08 is established to provide a forum for researchers and industry practitioners to discuss Model-Based Software Engineering issues, challenges and needs, and exchange new ideas and solutions as well as practice experience.

 

The topics for submissions include, but are not limited to, the following:

·        Metamodeling frameworks and languages

·        Domain-specific and reusable model development

·        Models of software behavior

·        Visual notation for MBSE

·        Model-based requirements analysis

·        Model-based approach to COTS systems, SOA-based systems

·        Techniques for supporting model interchange between tools (e.g., model transformation)

·        Approaches for code generation from software models

·        Model-based software testing, verification, and validation

·        Model-based evolution of software systems

·        The role of ontology in MBSE

·        Knowledge- and semantic-preserving transformations between models and metamodels

·        Case studies and empirical studies showing success or failure of MBSE usage

 

IMPORTANT DATES

 

·        Paper submission due: March 16, 2008 (FIRM)

·        Notification of acceptance: TBA

·        Camera-ready copy: May 7, 2008

·        Conference: July 1 – 3, 2008

 

PAPER SUBMISSION

 

Papers must be written in English. An electronic version (Postscript, PDF, or MS Word format) of the full paper should be submitted using the following URL:

 

http://conf.ksi.edu/seke08/submit/SubmitPaper.php

 

Please use Internet Explorer as the browser, and select the paper type “Model-Based Software Engineering”. Each manuscript must include a 200-word long abstract, and no more than 6 pages of IEEE double column text (including figures and references).

 

TRACK ORGANIZERS

 

Mikhail Auguston, (maugusto@nps.edu ), Naval Postgraduate School, USA

Barrett Bryant, (bryant@cis.uab.edu), University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Jeff Gray, (gray@cis.uab.edu), University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Rajeev Raje, (rraje@cs.iupui.edu), Indiana University Purdue University, Indianapolis, USA

 

Program Committee Members:

 

Swapan Bhattacharya, (bswapan2000@yahoo.co.in), National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, India

Alan Hartman, (HARTMAN@il.ibm.com ), IBM Haifa Research, Israel

Clinton Jeffery, (jeffery@cs.uidaho.edu ), University of Idaho, USA

Frederic Jouault,  (frederic.jouault@univ-nantes.fr ), University of Nantes/INRIA, France

Audris Kalnins, (audris@mii.lu.lv ), University of Latvia, Latvia

Vinay Kulkarni, (vinay.vkulkarni@tcs.com ), Tata Research, India

Shih-Hsi Liu, (shliu@csufresno.edu ), California State University at Fresno, USA
Alfonso Pierantonio, (alfonso@di.univaq.it ), University of L’Aquila , Italy

Juha-Pekka Tolvanen, (jpt@metacase.com ), MetaCase, Finland

Mark Trakhtenbrot, (ilmarktr@yahoo.com ), Holon Institute of Technology, Israel

Laurence Tratt, (laurie@tratt.net ), Bournemouth University, UK

Antonio Vallecillo, (av@lcc.uma.es ), University of Malaga, Spain

Franz Wotawa, (fwotawa@ist.tugraz.at ), Technische Universitaet Graz, Austria

Jing Zhang, (j.zhang@motorola.com ), Motorola Research, USA